So when you gone get a perm??

When I went natural everybody and their mama, and my mama too, told me not to. They told me how ugly my hair was going to be and how I’d never get a man (I’ve met and married my soul mate since I’ve gone natural) or a job and how “black and militant” I would look to employers. My family really has some growing to do. But that’s neither here nor there because my biggest “natural hair hater” was my cousin, H. She had something to say about my hair every step of the way and turned her nose up at me. Now, here I am 3 years later touching bra strap length and her hair is still as dried and crusty from over processing as it was when I started. We had the same hair at the beginning! Now, she’s slowly coming around and wants me to giver her tips. I am helping her, of course, but I can’t help but to think about the hell she gave me at the start. What goes around comes around!

the turned up noses and the, “when are you going to press that stuff?!” interrogations. i got it all. i think a lot of people in my family thought i was going through a phase. i went to a women’s college so many were already expecting me to “turn gay” or doing somethingrebellious, so when i cut off my hair, it satiated their thirst for, “i told you so!”

they were of course wrong and like you, i had a few hair haters that stood out more significantly so than the rest. i’m not one to rub anything in anyone’s face as i, myself, have been converted to “the other side” of things after much hesitation or doubt, but it does feel good to swang (yes, swang) my hair in the wind knowing that so many wanted me to be bald headed or anything else besides natural. anything but walking…blackness.

via: KisForKinky

 

About NaturalFashionista

21 years old, prescatarian...fashionista, on a journey to natural. Peace.LOVE.Hair.FASHION

Posted on May 14, 2012, in Hair, Transition and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Whatcha Think?

